Study in Eastern University of Sri Lanka

The Eastern University, Sri Lanka, was established on the 01st of October 1986 by a University Order dated 26th September 1986 issued under Section 2 of the Universities Act No: 16 of 1978. The University was preceded by the Batticaloa University College established on 01st August 1981 which was started in the buildings of the Vantharumoolai Madya Maha Vidyalayam. In addition, over 100 acres of land have been added to the original Campus. Student hostels and staff quarters have been constructed on this land and many new buildings are planned. The Batticaloa University College began with two faculties: The Faculty of Science and the Faculty of Agriculture and both these faculties were affiliated to the University of Peradeniya. Two new faculties viz. the Faculty of Commerce & Management with the Departments of Economics, Commerce & Management, and the Faculty of Cultural Studies with the Departments of Arabic, Islamic Studies and Fine Arts were established in 1988.

Study in Eastern University of Sri Lanka

About Admissions

Deciding of learners for entrance to Universities in Sri Lanka is becoming completed by University of Colombo Grants Commission on the base of an admission policy planted from hour and hour by them with the concurrence of the Govt. Programs are asked through a notice publicized in the Media from qualified applicants on forms offered for the purpose.
The subsequent provides on entrance is dependent on the publication titled .

Department and Course

  • B.Sc in Agriculture
  • B.Sc in Agriculture
  • B.Sc in Agriculture
  • B.Sc in Agriculture
  • M.B.B.S & B.Sc in Nursing
  • B.A(Communication)
  • B.A (Languages)
  • B.Sc (Marketing Management)
  • B.Sc (Human Resource Management)
  • B.M
  • B.Sc (Computer Science)
  • B.S.M.S
  • B.FA (Music)
  • B.FA (Dance)
  • B.FA (Visual & Technological Arts)


Applicants who are pronounced entitled by the Commissioner General of Examinations must have acquired;

  • At minimum ‘S’ Grades; in all 3 authorized topics; and
  • A lowest mark of 30% for the Common General Paper.

Applicants who are evident ineligible by the Commissioner General of Examinations due to not pleasing (b) preceding are also permitted to apply for university of Colombo entrance simply if they have currently pleased at earlier attempt / attempts or would please at any upcoming attempt.


Eastern University of Sri Lanka offers 100 scholarships for international students for Masters and PhD studies. The prospective applicants can contact Dr. S. Damunupula ([email protected]) or Ms. Melissa Seneviratne ([email protected]) in the International Unit of the Eastern University of Sri Lanka for further information.

Contact Us

  • T-Phone:+94 65 2240533
  • E-mail: [email protected]
  • Eastern University, Sri Lanka Vantharumoolai Chenkalady Sri Lanka.
Posted in: Admission in Sri Lanka Universities, Universities Admissions

Leave a Comment